DPP06-2006-000317

Abstract for an Invited Paper for the DPP06 Meeting of the American Physical Society

Time-dependent nuclear measurements of fuel-shell mix in ICF implosions at $OMEGA^1$

J. RYAN RYGG, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Fuel-shell mix remains a pivotal concern in inertial confinement fusion (ICF), as it can preclude ignition. Mix is the result of saturation of Rayleigh-Taylor (RT) instability growth at a density interface that leads to small-scale, turbulent eddies and atomic-level mixing of cool, high-density fuel in the shell with hot, low-density fuel in the core. If sufficient mixing occurs, it will disrupt the formation of the "hot-spot" required for ignition. To sensitively probe the evolution and extent of mix in spherical implosions, the time dependence of the D³He nuclear reaction rate was measured from implosions of capsules filled with pure ³He. The capsule shell was comprised of a 1- μ m layer of CD inside a 19- μ m layer of CH. Nuclear burn will only occur in such capsules if there is sufficient mixing of D from the shell with hot ³He in the core. By utilizing novel D³He reaction-rate and proton spectrometers, all sensitive to the 14.7 MeV D³He protons, a comprehensive, time dependent picture of mix was constructed. Important qualitative features were immediately evident: first, the shock burn of D³He, always present for gas fills of D³He, was absent, enabling a strong limit to be set on the amount and extent of D penetration into the ³He. Second, the time necessary for RT instabilities to induce mix and to be heated by the hot core resulted in a 90 ps delay in the D³He bang time as compared to bang time for implosions with D³He fills. And third, when the gas pressure of ³He was reduced from 20 to 4 atm, the extent of mix was enhanced by about a factor of 5.

This work was supported in part by LLE, LLNL, the U.S. DoE, and the N.Y. State Energy Research and Development Authority.

¹In collaboration with J. A. Frenje, C. K. Li, F. H. Séguin, and R. D. Petrasso (MIT), and J. A. Delettrez, V. Yu. Glebov, V. N. Goncharov, D. D. Meyerhofer, P. B. Radha, S. P. Regan, T. C. Sangster, and C. Stoeckl (LLE).