MAR05-2004-003437

Abstract for an Invited Paper for the MAR05 Meeting of the American Physical Society

Heterojunction Engineering of Semiconductor Ferromagnetism¹ MASAAKI TANAKA², Dept. of Electronic Engineering, University of Tokyo, and PRESTO/SORST of JST

While bandgap engineering and wavefunction engineering are established in nonmagnetic semiconductor heterostructures, we aim to broaden their field to magnetic heterostructures and to extend the degree of freedom in designing spin-related properties in semiconductors. In this study, we introduced delta-doping of magnetic (Mn) impurities in the quasi two-dimensional hole gas at the interface of GaAs/p-AlGaAs heterostructures, and successfully maximized the ferromagnetic order among the Mn spins by overlapping the hole wavefunction with the Mn delta-doping profile. Selectively p-doped heterostructures (Mn-delta-doped GaAs / Be-doped AlGaAs) were prepared by molecular beam epitaxy, in which holes are supplied from the Be-doped p-AlGaAs layer to the Mn-delta-doped channel, and ferromagnetic ordering was clearly observed in magnetotransport measurements [1]. In the heterostructure prepared with proper conditions, its ferromagnetic transition temperature (T_c) was 172 K, higher than the T_c of InAs- or GaAs-based random-alloy magnetic semiconductors [2]. It was also found that in more suitably designed heterostructures with low-temperature annealing, T_c can be higher than 200 K [3]. Furthermore, we show the control of ferromagnetism in the heterostructures by using gate electric field and light irradiation at relatively high temperatures (~100 K) [4]. [1] A. M. Nazmul, S. Sugahara, and M. Tanaka, Appl. Phys. Lett. **80**, 3120 (2002). [2] A. M. Nazmul, S. Sugahara, and M. Tanaka, Submitted. [4] A. M. Nazmul, S. Kobayashi, S. Sugahara, and M. Tanaka, Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. **43**, L233 (2004).

¹This work was supported by PRESTO and SORST of JST, IT Program RR2002 of MEXT, Toray Science Foundation, and Grant-in-aid for Scientific Research from MEXT, Japan.

²Collaborated with Ahsan M. Nazmul, Y. Shuto, T. Amemiya, and S. Sugahara, at the University of Tokyo.